Dutch Debating League

The Dutch Debating League is the internal competition of the Dutch debating societies. During the year, every society hosts one evening. During that evening, a total of 4 rounds will take place in which all societies participate twice. A team can score points for its society by participating in these debates. The winner of the debate scores 4 points, the 2nd team gets 3 points, the team ranking 3rd receives 2 points and the 4th team will get 1 point. If a society is unable to participate at an evening, it won’t receive any points.


2017-2018: Leiden Debating Union
2018-2019: Leiden Debating Union

Season 2018/2019

For the upcoming season, the schedule will look as follows:
8 November – Leiden
20 December – Delft
24 January – Tilburg
12 February – Nijmegen
18 March – Rotterdam
24 April – Utrecht
May – Chronos
11 June – Amsterdam

The Chief Adjudication team for this season will consist of Marike Breed, Floris Holstege, Simone Landman, Fenna ten Haaf en Ybo Buruma.

After all 8 nights, the final ranking is as follows:

  1. Leiden Debating Union (60 points)
  2. TDV Cicero (49 points)
  3. Utrecht Debating Society (43 points)
  4. TUDDC (26 points)
  5. ASDV Bonaparte (25 points)
  6. NSDV Trivium (16 points)
  7. Erasmus Debating Society (15 points)
  8. ESDA Chronos (14 points)
  9. GDS Kalliope (4 points)

(If teams have an equal amount of team points, the ranking is done on speaker points)